REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES BUDGET WORK SESSION

Administration Building August 6, 2018 6:00 P.M.

The regular meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Bluffton-Harrison Metropolitan School District was held on Monday, August 6, 2018, with all members present. Also in attendance was Wayne Barker, Superintendent; Brad Yates, Assistant Superintendent; Amy Dunwiddie, Corporation Secretary; Steve Baker, Rick Mettler and Julie Meitzler; Administrators; Bethany Clem, new staff member; Jim Hotopp, Marcia Hotopp, Troy Eschenbacher; and Mike Mann, interested patrons; and Devan Filchak, News Banner representative.

Prior to the regular meeting, Dr. Yates presented a budget overview for the 2019 calendar year. The Budget Work Session ended at 6:25 P.M.

After the Budget Work Session, President Schlagenhauf called the meeting to order at 6:25 P.M. He then opened the meeting by commending the groundskeeper, maintenance and custodial staffs for the outstanding appearance of the campus and buildings, commended food service personnel for providing an average of 225 meals per day to the summer lunch feeding locations, commended the childcare staff for supervising over 50 children per day, and recognized the bus drivers and teachers that served students throughout the summer school program.

Minutes for the Regular Board Meeting held on July 16, 2018, were approved by consensus and appropriate signatures affixed thereon.

Vouchers for the period of July 17, 2018, through August 6, 2018, were approved by consensus and appropriate signatures affixed on the voucher register.

Mr. Barker presented preliminary data in regard to staff performance evaluations, for the previous school year, to be in compliance with the new Indiana law that requires this information to be reported to the school governing body prior to August 15th of each year.

Mr. Barker updated the Board on the progress of the stadium project.

The Board approved the following resignations as presented. The motion by Adam Ault and second by Dawn Frauhiger passed unanimously.

Kylie Heyerly Kdg. Teacher Annie Petty MS Nurse Mary Dowell Bus Driver Cathy Petty Bus Driver

The Board approved the following employment recommendations as presented. The motion by Brent Hiday and second by Mike Murray passed unanimously.

Robert Vanderkolk Alt. Education Support Specialist/

HO Licensed Teacher/ MS-HS Asst.

Athletic Director

Bethany Clem MS Nurse

Intent-to-Employ ES Spec. Ed Instructional Asst.

The Indiana School Boards Association recommends all support staff in the areas of substitute teaching, childcare workers, and pool personnel receive board approval for hiring and termination purposes. As a result of this action, the board approved the following employment recommendations, by category, as presented. The motion by Dawn Frauhiger and second by Adam Ault passed unanimously.

Substitute Teachers: Michelle Baumgartner, Brooke Bertsch, Jenna Bowman, Tim Cooley, Tracy Coyne, Todd Drayer, Rita Ebbinghouse, Jean Faillace, Kara Frank, Stacey Franklin, Candice Frus, Cheryl Hall, Collette Hammond-Nevil, Joy Hann, Brandon Harnish, Tom Haynie, Denise Heiniger, Gary Hemrick, Diane Holland, Aleyce Lowe, Lanette Mason, Debra McConnehey, Amy Meyer, Tina Michael, Jennifer Muhlenkamp, Roy Nevil, Diane Owen, Linda Penrod, Cary Raesner, Deanna Richhart, Kenny Seymour, Kylee Smith, Lauren Smith, Kimberly Steury, Emma Thompson, Felicia Wilson, Mindy Yates, Kent Ringger.

Childcare Workers: Brea Ashman, Emme Boots, Ashley Bowling, Alyssa Burchett, Emily Burchett, Marissa Capatina, Taylor Carnahan, Brittany Elliott, Kaelonie Correa, Autumn Davis, Mary Davis, Mallory Dove, Mackenzie Duncan, Makenna Ebright, Bailey Engle, Hallie Gallion, Tosha Gallion, Krista Gore, Jazmine Hurry, Sophie King, Hailey Lewis, Sam Meyer, Sheyanne Meyer, Haille Milholland, Kenja Moore, Reagan Olson, Cheyanne Penrod, Kara Reckard, Madison Stiles, Lauren Stout, Claudia Vitz, Ellie Vitz, Maddy Wenger, Ceirra Zootman, Cynthia Zootman.

Pool Personnel: Abby Redick, Ava Ringger, Autumn Davis, Aaron Carnall, Grace Krider, Hailey Lewis, Addison Schreiber, Morgan Pulver, Aubrey Wenger, Jack Reiff, Jack Ringger, Michael Laux, Madison Tungate, Jim Osborn, Vincent Quinnones.

The Board approved the employment of Emily Hiday in the category of pool personnel as presented. The motion by Mike Murray and second by Dawn Frauhiger passed by a vote of 4-0 with Brent Hiday abstaining from the vote.

The Board approved FMLA for Carol Herring from August 10th to September 21st as presented. The motion by Adam Ault and second by Brent Hiday passed unanimously.

The Board approved policy JFCIA-R (Random Student Drug Testing Policy Guidelines) on first reading as presented. The motion by Brent Hiday and second by Dawn Frauhiger passed unanimously.

The Board approved policy GBCBB (Criminal History Information) on second reading as presented. The motion by Mike Murray and second by Adam Ault passed unanimously.

The Board approved policy EBB (Suicide Awareness & Prevention) on second reading as presented. The motion by Dawn Frauhiger and second by Brent Hiday passed unanimously.

The Board approved policy KBAA (Right to Inspect Certain Instructional Materials/Student Participation in Surveys), KBAA-E2 (Consent Form for Formal Classroom Instruction on Human Sexuality-MS) and KBAA-E3 (Consent Form for Formal Classroom Instruction on

Human Sexuality-HS) on second reading as presented. The motion by Dawn Frauhiger and second by Brent Hiday passed unanimously.

The Board approved policy JHCD (Administering Medications to Students) on second reading as presented. The motion by Adam Ault and second by Heath Schlagenhauf passed unanimously.

The Board granted permission for trained personnel to administer Naloxone (Narcan) as presented. The motion by Adam Ault and second by Dawn Frauhiger passed unanimously.

The Board granted permission for Dr. Yates to advertise the 2019 budget tax levy, budget, and notice to taxpayers of a public hearing (Budget Form 3) (Correlated File #1819-01) as presented. The motion by Brent Hiday and second by Mike Murray passed unanimously with appreciation for all the work involved in putting together the budget.

The Board approved the request from Mr. Barker to change the September 10th meeting date to September 11th in order to allow board members the option to attend the ISBA Fall Conference. The motion by Brent Hiday and second by Dawn Frauhiger passed unanimously.

In final business of the evening, Mr. Barker reminded Board members of the upcoming opening day events held on August 9th and 10th and Board member, Brent Hiday, made an announcement that he will not be seeking re-election to the board for 2019 and thanked other members for his 12 years of service.

With there being no additional business to come before the board, the meeting was adjourned at 6:50 P.M. on a motion by Adam Ault and second by Dawn Frauhiger. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES:	